Ice Hotel – The World’s Fanciest Igloo

Usually when I think of having a good night’s rest it involves curling up in a cozy bed under a really huge blanket – but one day I will have to make an exception to this rule if I ever hope to stay a night at an ice hotel.

I first heard about the concept of an ice hotel when I was researching interesting places in Québec in preparation for my first trip there. I discovered that every winter just outside of Québec City the Hôtel de Glace is built. The entire building is made of a combination of ice and snow – right down to the glasses they serve drinks in at the ice bar.

The first ice hotel ever built is actually in Sweden, and like Hôtel de Glace each room is designed with a theme. IceHotel in Sweden has been around for 20 years now while the hotel in Québec just celebrated its 10th year. Hopefully one day I’ll get to go – obviously it’s quite expensive – but I highly doubt I’ll be interested in sleeping!

Leave a comment